Executive Branch

The Executive Branch of the Student Senate consists of the Executive Board and the Cabinet, which collectively organize, coordinate, and oversee all actions and activities of the Pitzer College Student Senate. The Executive Board consists of the President of Student Senate, as well as four Vice Presidents.

Each member of the Executive Board is independently elected to their respective office, and each has a number of unique duties and responsibilities. All members of the Executive Board serve on a variety of different college and student committees, often in leadership capacities. They meet privately at least once a week in addition to all regularly scheduled Student Senate meetings, and they work closely with both the Legislature and the Cabinet to ensure all branches of government run smoothly and effectively.

The Cabinet, which supports the Executive Board, consists of a Treasurer, Internal Secretary, Secretary of Student Organization, Secretary of Diversity, and Secretary of Events.


Shivani Kavuluru ’19
Hometown: San Jose, CA; Hyderabad, India
Majors: Philosophy, English (Creative Writing)
Pronouns: she, her, hers

The President of the Student Senate is the official representative and spokesperson for the students of Pitzer College and helps guide Senate in implementing its priorities and objectives. The president serves as chair at general Student Senate meetings and oversees the operations of the Executive Branch.

Vice President of External Affairs

Clint Isom ’20
Hometown: Mountain Brook, AL
Majors: Computer Science, Economics
Pronouns: he, him, his

The Vice President of External Affairs (VPEX) is responsible for managing and overseeing how Student Senate interfaces with the wider college. While every member of the Executive Branch must engage with staff, faculty, administration, and trustees to a degree, it is the responsibility of the VP of External Affairs to ensure that Senate is a vigorous participant in the shared governance process.

Vice President of Internal Affairs

Kamyab Mashian ’19
Hometown: Santa Cruz, CA
Major: Philosophy, Politics, and Economics
Pronouns: he, him, his

The Vice President of Internal Affairs (VPIN) is responsible for coordinating the internal operations of the Student Senate. This involves guiding and advising the Internal Secretary, helping members of Senate draft legislation, helping students get involved on Task Forces, and stepping in wherever Senate needs additional support. The VPIN also oversees the Elections Committee and the Adjudication Board.

Vice President of Finance

Jack Kessel ’19
Hometown: Lake Oswego, Oregon
Major: Economics
Pronouns: he, him, his

The Vice President of Finance oversees the budget of Student Senate. While the Treasurer is responsible for keeping track of reimbursements and expenditures, it is the VP of Finance’s role to plan out how Student Senate spends its money. This involves several major duties, including chairing Budget Committee, preparing the annual budget, and reporting the finances of Student Senate back to the Legislature and the wider community.

Vice President of Student Engagement

Brennan MacKay ’19

The Vice President of Student Engagement (VPSE) coordinates Senate’s efforts to enrich student life at Pitzer College. Together with the Secretary of Student Organizations, they oversee all clubs and student organizations at the college. They also work closely with the Secretary of Diversity and the Secretary of Events.


James Karsten ’22

The Treasurer’s primary duty is to manage the budget of Student Senate and keep track of all expenditures. They are responsible for approving student reimbursements, and they assist the Vice President of Finance at running Budget Committee meetings.

Internal Secretary

Jennifer Bekenstein ’19
Hometown: Wayland, MA
Majors: Environmental Analysis, Economics
Pronouns: she, her, hers

The Internal Secretary is responsible for keeping the proceedings of Student Senate well-documented and organized. They record minutes, track attendance, and ensure that documents are properly distributed.

Secretary of Student Organizations

Deborah Zhao ’21
Hometown: Beijing, China
Majors: International Relations
Pronouns: she, her, hers

The Secretary of Student Organizations (SSO) oversees the student organizations of Pitzer College, working closely with the VPSE to provide the necessary guidance and support to all student groups. The SSO reviews minutes submitted by organizations and publishes a review of all student organizations once per semester.

Secretary of Diversity

Keon Rabbani ’19
Hometown: Newport Beach, CA
Major: Biochemistry
Pronouns: he, him, his

The Secretary of Diversity is the chair of the Pitzer College Student Identity Board, which consists of representatives from the various identity-based student groups that are active in the Pitzer Community. The Secretary of Diversity works to promote social responsibility within Senate and the Pitzer Community, with a particular emphasis on the interests and needs of historically marginalized communities.

Secretary of Events

Roshni Patel ’20
Hometown: Mumbai, India
Major: Sociology
Pronouns: she, her, hers

The Secretary of Events serves as the chair of the Pitzer College Events Board, which is Pitzer’s primary programming board for student-organized events. The Board oversees a fund which is distributed between different events every year. The Secretary of Events works closely with events staff, student organizations, and the Vice President of Student Engagement to ensure that Pitzer students have access to a wide variety of successful events every year.