Academic Calendar 2018-19

2018-19 Academic Calendar [PDF]

2018-19 Final Exam Schedule

If you have questions, please contact registrar@pitzer.edu

Fall 2018

AUGUST
Aug 25 Sat New student move-In/New Student Orientation and Orientation Adventure begins
Aug 27-30 Mon-Thu Orientation Adventure Program
Aug 30-Sep 3 Thu-Mon New Student Orientation continues
SEPTEMBER
Sep 1-2 Sat-Sun Academic advising for new students
Sep 2 Sun New student registration
Sep 2 Sun Residence halls open for returning students at 10 a.m.
Sep 4 Tue Convocation for new students
Sep 3 Mon Labor Day
Sep 4 Tues First day of classes
Sep 17 Mon Last day to add a class (full- and half-credit)
Sep 17 Mon Last day to add/drop for a tuition refund or financial aid adjustment
OCTOBER
Oct 10 Wed Suggested date for faculty to submit low grade notifications
Oct 15 Mon Fall Major Declaration Expo
Oct 22 & 23 Mon-Tues Fall Break – no classes
Oct 25 Thurs Last day to drop a class with no recorded grade & without being charged semester overload fees
Oct 25 Thurs Major and Minor declaration forms due of Juniors (class of 2020)
Oct 29 Mon Special Major Information Meeting, 4 p.m.
NOVEMBER
Nov 8 Thurs Last day to choose Pass/No Credit grading option; forms due to Registrar’s Office
Nov 12-13 Mon-Tues Advising Days (classes still in session)
Nov 13-16 Tues-Fri Pre-Registration for Spring 2019 semester
Nov 16 Fri Independent Study Forms due SPRING 2019 (full and half credit)
Nov 21-23 Wed-Fri Thanksgiving Break – no classes
DECEMBER
Dec 14 Fri Last day of classes for fall semester
Dec 14 Fri Last day to withdraw from a class (grade recorded as “W”)
Dec 17-21 Fri Final Examinations (see Final Examination Schedule)
Dec 22 Sat Residence halls close at noon
Dec 27 Thur All grades due to Registrar’s Office by noon

Spring 2019

JANUARY
Jan 18 Fri New Student Orientation
Jan 20 Sun Residence halls open at 10:00 a.m.
Jan 21 Mon Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – no classes
Jan 22 Tues Spring semester classes begin
FEBRUARY
Feb 4 Mon Last day to add a class (full and half credit)
Feb 4 Mon Last day add/drop for a tuition refund or financial aid adjustment
Feb 27 Wed Suggested date for faculty to submit low-grade notifications
MARCH
Mar 11 Mon Spring Major Declaration Expo
Mar 14 Thurs Last day to drop a class without recorded grade & without being charged semester overload fees
Mar 18-22 Mon-Fri Spring Break
Mar 29 Fri César Chavez Day – No Classes
APRIL
Apr 4 Thurs Last day to choose Pass/No Credit grading option, forms due to Registrar’s Office
Apr 15-16 Mon-Tues Advising Days (Classes still in session)
Apr 23-25 Tues-Thurs Pre-Registration for Fall 2019
Apr 25 Thu Independent Study Forms due for FALL 2019 (full and half credit)
Apr 27 Fri Last day for graduating Seniors to withdraw from a class (grade recorded as “W”)
Apr 29 Mon Independent Study Forms due for SUMMER 2019 (full and half credit)
MAY
May 8 Wed Last day of classes for the Spring semester
May 9 Thurs Academic Festival
May 9-10 Thurs-Fri Senior Finals; Reading days for all other students
May 10 Fri Final day for non-seniors to withdraw from a class (grade recorded as “W”)
May 10 Fri Grades for graduating seniors must be submitted by noon
May 13-17 Mon-Fri Final Examinations (see Final Examination Schedule)
May 18 Sat Commencement
May 19 Sun Residence halls close at noon for all students
May 23 Thurs Grades for non-graduating students must be submitted by noon