2003-2004 Academic Year

Pitzer Students Awarded 2004 Fulbrights
First Round of Winners Announced

Claremont, Calif. (April 21, 2004) - Five Pitzer College students have been awarded Fulbright grants to continue in their fields of study. The number of awards in 2003, six Fulbrights, surpassed the highest number won by Pitzer students since the school's creation in 1963 and was a record for schools of Pitzer's size.

Ten Pitzer students were recommended for Fulbright Fellowships for 2004-2005 by the U.S. Fulbright Committee. Those recommendations were forwarded to the Fulbright committees in the respective host countries, where final decisions will be made between April and June 2004. Of the ten students recommended at the national level, eight participated in Pitzer College's External Studies program.

2004 Fulbright Fellowship WinnersAlready five Pitzer College students have been awarded Fulbright Fellowships for 04-05. The awardees and the countries in which they will study include Julia Terlinchamp (Bulgaria); Aria Starus (Germany); Rachel Quaday (Korea); Edel Marie Jose (Philippines); and Matthew Williams (Netherlands).

The flagship international educational program sponsored by the United States government, the Fulbright Program is designed to "increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries..." With this goal, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 250,000 participants— chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential—with the opportunity to study and teach in each other's countries, exchange ideas and develop joint solutions to address shared concerns.

The Fulbright Program was established in 1946 under legislation introduced by former Sen. J. William Fulbright of Arkansas. Approximately 250,000 "Fulbrighters," 94,000 from the United States and 155,600 from other countries, have participated in the program since its inception more than 50 years ago. The Fulbright Program awards approximately 4,500 new grants annually. Fulbright alumni include Nobel and Pulitzer Prize winners, governors and senators, ambassadors and artists, prime ministers and heads of state, professors and scientists, Supreme Court justices and CEOs.